Niagara Parks to Undertake Repairs to Dufferin Islands Pedestrian Bridge
Niagara Falls, ON – The Niagara Parks Commission (NPC) wishes to inform its guests that it will undertake maintenance repairs to the Centre Island pedestrian bridge at Dufferin Islands, beginning on Tuesday, February 21, 2017.
Access to the pedestrian bridge, from Burning Springs Hill, will be closed to the public for a two-week period. During this time, the contractor selected will begin work on replacing wood joists and supports, as well as portions of the railings and deck boards, before levelling the approaches to the pedestrian bridge. This temporary closure will result in the blockage of one access route to the Centre Island; however, there are alternative routes to all other areas of the park, via trail access points from Dufferin Islands Road and the Niagara Parkway.
This bridge repair project is part of a larger bridge maintenance plan to be undertaken by Niagara Parks at Dufferin Islands over the next two years. This work will improve the walking trails at Dufferin Islands for the enjoyment of visitors and reflects Niagara Parks’ ongoing commitment to preserving, protecting and providing access to the natural parklands it is entrusted to protect, all along the Niagara River Corridor.
NPC is committed to a vision of Ontario’s Niagara Parks as one that Preserves a rich heritage, Conserves natural wonders, and Inspires people world-wide. Founded in 1885, The Niagara Parks Commission is an Operational Enterprise Agency of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport. Its mission is to protect the natural and cultural heritage along the Niagara River for the enjoyment of visitors while maintaining financial self-sufficiency.